Madelaine Shaw-Wong

Author

5.0 out of 5 stars

This fast-moving, well-crafted novel takes on big themes. ...

By Astrea on November 12, 2017

This fast-moving, well-crafted novel takes on big themes. How does a free society plummet into dictatorship? What happens when ethical standards in all fields of endeavor disappear, when the practice of medicine is used as a tool for state-sanctioned torture and murder, when it is becomes government policy to treat all vulnerable people as expendable? How can people not succumb to the fear and brainwashing on which the dictator relies? Medical doctor Peter Dram faces serious personal and professional choices and chooses one path. Community activist Tresha Falwell chooses another. Why? And what about all the people who don't know where to turn?
A timely and riveting read.


5.0 out of 5 stars

Poignant Piece about Dictators for Today's World

By Emily Wong on October 18, 2017

This book shows the destructive nature and power of dictatorships. As the dictator takes away the freedoms of the people of Covona, some fight back while others just give up. It's good lesson, to be on guard against propaganda and wannabe dictators, which is especially poignant in today's world where unqualified idiots are ruling our nations. The book also makes a good point about euthanasia and the possibility of it spiraling out of control.


5.0 out of 5 stars

By MZ on November 19, 2017

Disturbing picture of life obsessed with the culture of death.. very well written.. a page turner.


5.0 out of 5 stars

By Karen Jerome on November 5, 2017

LOVED this book! It’s fascinating, entertaining and thought provoking.
Highly recommended!


By Kat Mary on November 21, 2017

With the pacing of John Grisham novel, Quietus rapidly descends into a not so inconceivable dystopia. The author creates a graphic scene in which a poorly conceived and false idea is brought to its full fruition. The protagonist's struggle feels quite real which, combined with his moral descent, adds to the element of suspense, horror and shudder-worthy interest for the reader. For the reader who may not normally enjoy horror as a genre, this novel may stand out as the exception. Not all horror just for the sake of horror, Quietus allows the reader to experience elements of beauty and hope for the freedom humanity truly desires. I enjoyed my time journeying with the protagonist, Dr Piter Dram, as well as my favourite character, Tresha, and look forward to a motion picture based on this novel? Compelling!


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 starsGripping 5* dystopian novel

April 5, 2018

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Gripping story while raising some profound questions about where we are headed as a culture.


T. Morgan

5.0 out of 5 starsDystopian/not-too-distant future and all-too-familiar-past

March 16, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition

Phenomenal novel. Well-written, poignant, and disturbing tale that is fitting for our times. The characters felt real; some so lovable and strong, others so deeply flawed as to be undeniably human and reflect some of our darkest traits, the things within us that we want to look away from. But the author shows us the consequences behind that impulse to turn away and pretend things are fine when we know that we need to stand up for those who cannot stand up for themselves lest we relinquish completely any remaining virtue within our own souls and our society. Really puts into perspective that slippery slope into dictatorship and eugenics. Fascinating and highly recommended.


Bernadette Finzel

5.0 out of 5 starsI strongly recommend this timely and relevant novel

April 6, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition

A thought provoking novel, not only frightening in its description of future dire consequences of moral and spiritual relativism, but those currently playing out in today’s society.
It illustrates the power of courage and forgiveness in the face of overwhelming human greed and vanity. It’s a terrifying glimpse of a God hating society resulting in its ultimate devolution into moral depravity with its callous disregard for the value of human life.
The characters are real, believable and relatable. The plot keeps a strong momentum throughout with tight, strong writing and a heart pounding conclusion.
I strongly recommend this timely and relevant novel.


Isabel Rao

4.0 out of 5 starsFascinating and heart breaking.

March 20, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition

Fascinating and heart breaking. Eye-opening and foreshadowing. An exciting tale on what could happen in an extremist regime -- too close to home! Page turning but maybe a little too intense / real / sad for my taste. But an enjoyable read overall.


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 starsI found the book riveting but very scary reminding me ...

April 3, 2018

Format: Kindle Edition

I found the book riveting but very scary reminding me of the rise of Hitler in Germany in WWII. The SS tried to rid the world of all whom they thought dysfunctional; the mentally handicapped, the old, the sick, and those disagreeing with their ideals, church leaders, opponents in government. We must be vigilant to make sure this does not happen in our society or we will see history repeating itself!


Karen Jerome

5.0 out of 5 starsCouldn’t put it down!

November 5, 2017

Format: Paperback

LOVED this book! It’s fascinating, entertaining and thought provoking.
Highly recommended!